Every two years, the International Journal of Forecasting awards a prize to the best paper on energy forecasting. The prize is generously funded by Professor Tao Hong. This year, we will award the prize to a paper published in the IJF during the period 2021-2022. The prize will be US$1000 plus an engraved plaque. The award committee is composed of Rafał WeronRob J. Hyndman and Pierre Pinson.

Nominations are invited from any reader of the IJF. Each person may nominate up to three papers, but you cannot nominate a paper that you have co-authored yourself. Papers co-authored by Tao Hong or one of the award committee members are not eligible for the prize. All nominations are to be accompanied by a short statement (up to 200 words) from the nominator, explaining why the paper deserves an award.

You can find an overview of relevant papers published in the period 2021-2022 on Google Scholar, though also mixed with some others. Of course, a good paper does not always get noticed right away in terms of citation impact, so do not let the citation count sway you too much in nominating what you consider to be the best IJF paper from this period.

Nominations should be sent to me by email by 27 May 2024.

For information, previous recipients of the award include:

  • 2019-2020 IIF Tao Hong Award: Probabilistic forecasting in day-ahead electricity markets: Simulating peak and off-peak prices, International Journal of Forecasting 36(4): 1193-1210.
  • 2017-2018 IIF Tao Hong Award: Kevin Berk, Alexander Hoffmann and Alfred Müller (2018) Probabilistic forecasting of industrial electricity load with regime-switching behaviour, International Journal of Forecasting 34(2): 147-162.
  • 2015-2016 IIF Tao Hong Award: Pierre Gaillard, Yannig Goude and Raphael Nedellec (2016) Additive models and robust aggregation for GEFCom2014 probabilistic electric load and electricity price forecasting”. International Journal of Forecasting 32(3): 1038-1050.
  • 2015-2016 Outstanding Paper Award: Jaromir Benes, Marcelle Chauvet, Ondra Kamenik, Michael Kumhof, Douglas Laxton, Susanna Mursula, Jack Selody (2015) “The future of oil: Geology versus technology”, International Journal of Forecasting 31(1): 207-221.
  • 2013-2014 IIF Tao Hong Award: Rafał Weron (2014) “Electricity price forecasting: A review of the state-of-the-art with a look into the future”, International Journal of Forecasting 30(4): 1030–1081.
  • 2013-2014 Outstanding Paper Award: Stephen Haben, Jonathan Ward, Danica Vukadinovic Greetham, Colin Singleton and Peter Grindrod (2014) “A new error measure for forecasts of household-level, high resolution electrical energy consumption”, International Journal of Forecasting 30(2): 246–256.

And here is a link to the page of the International Institute of Forecasters (IIF) for the IIF Tao Hong award: